Exhaustion

I’ve had such a tough night shift at work.

So many patients were trying to die, and all the firefighting I had to do overnight left me completely and utterly shattered.

When I left the hospital this morning, I was overcome by hunger and thirst.

I felt so exhausted that I walked through the empty streets towards home with my eyes intermittently shut. I had lost the energy to even stand up straight, and staggered home with my head down and shoulders slumped. My left foot hurt as my plantar fasciitis had been aggravated by a whole night of hurrying around. I was pretty much a broken doctor.

However, the morning was absolutely sublime. The rare summer sun had made an appearance and it felt comforting to feel its warm arms enveloping me. It was also lovely as the light breeze caressed and massaged my weary body. The smell of freshly cut grass aroused my senses, and I was so tempted to just lie down on the little green carpet of life for some shut-eye under the gorgeous, clear, blue sky.

I think God made a point this morning– that no matter how much we struggle and strive as weak humans, and how life leaves us fatigued and breathless with its challenges, God will always be there. He is ever gracious, ever loving and ever comforting. When you learn to walk away from your troubles and towards Him, He will provide beauty, and life, and restoration.

“But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Isaiah 40:31

 

Leave a Reply

