K-pop fever has hit this house

A couple of years ago, when Korean pop was making waves in Asia, I remember thinking that this was all silly child’s play. It is just another pop culture craze that young teenagers are chasing, much like the way J-pop fever reigned during my Secondary school days. I thought to myself that I must be old enough not to be herded along into this K-pop madness, and quite frankly, I did not think any of the Korean idols were particularly good-looking or talented anyway. Marketed in groups consisting of anything between 7 to 12 members, everyone in these groups looked exactly the same as each other and they sounded the same speaking in a language that I do not understand. Worse, these K-pop groups also had similarly strange names that mostly consisted of a combination of a couple of English letters and roman numerics (e.g. SS501, 2NE1, BTOB, 2am, 2pm etc). I did not find Korean pop attractive at all and simply could not understand what the huge hype was about Rain, or … whoever the latest K-pop idol is.

But I guess things are slowly changing… for me at least. I still do not profess to be a K-pop fanatic, but I am willing to admit that my interest in Korean TV and music has gradually grown.

It all started with me watching the Korean drama “playful kiss”, and I fell in love with a very suave Kim Hyun Joong.

Kim Hyun Joong

More recently, I have been hooked on a Korean TV series “Global We Got Married” which basically pairs a Korean pop star with another celebrity from a different country. It then follows them through their (fake) dating, proposal, wedding, honeymoon and subsequent married life. I didn’t think much of the TV show initially, but gradually found myself completely and utterly hooked! In the absence of a love life at present, it felt so nice to secretly share and indulge in the sweet moments that belong to another couple.

Screen shot 2013-05-30 at 21.42.11

Screen shot 2013-05-30 at 21.37.34

Watching these TV shows have led me to further investigate a number of Korean boybands, including 2pm and FT island. This song by FTisland (sung by their lead vocalist Hong Ki Lee) has proven to be a complete earworm and I can’t seem to get it out of my head. Oh, if only I knew the Korean language! I would love to learn to sing this heartbreaking song…

Leave a Reply

