Another item ticked off my bucket list

I went to see Michael McIntyre at the Echo arena last night. I have never ever been to see stand-up comedy before, but Mr McIntyre successfully made this very first experience an unforgettable one! I love that he makes such careful observations about mankind and all the strange things we get up to, then presents them so comically back to us that we cannot help but laugh at ourselves. I love the way he tells his stories so animatedly, the way he reinforces his words with fake accents and acting, and the way he picks on members of his audience and mocks them. More importantly, I love the way he doesn’t need to rely on telling crude jokes to be funny- funny doesn’t have to be dirty. I laughed so hard through the 2 and a half hour show that I left with an aching jaw and a stitch in my side. I had a great time last night, and will definitely be up for seeing more of his performances in the future.

Leave a Reply

