Jesus, I my cross have taken

After 2 months of an unplanned hiatus from the church worship band, I was finally able to lead Sunday service singing again last week. I thoroughly enjoyed all the songs we sang, and sneakily recorded this gorgeous music that we ended the morning service with.

Jesus I my cross have taken

All to leave and follow you

Son of man despised forsaken

Lord of all I am or do

Perish every fond ambition

All I sought or hoped or known

Yet how rich is my condition

God and heaven are still my own

 

Let the world despise and leave me

They have left my saviour too

Human hearts and looks deceive me

You are not like them untrue

Then while you shall smile upon me

God of wisdom love and might

Foes may hate and friends disown me

Show your face and all is bright

 

Those who trouble and distress me

Drive me to your presence best

Life with bitter trials they press me

And will bring me sweeter rest

How can grief or sorrow harm me

While my heart still feels so loved

How can this world’s pleasures charm me

When you are my joy above

 

Go then earthly fame and treasure

Come disaster scorn and pain

In your service better pleasures

In your favour loss is gain

I have called you Abba father

I have stayed my heart on you

Storms may howl and clouds may gather

All has worked for good to me

 

Take my soul its full salvation

Conquer every sin and care

Find in every situation

Joy and peace and service there

Think what spirit dwells within you

What a father loves you yet

What a saviour died to win you

Child of heaven why should you fret

 

Onward then from grace to glory

Armed by faith and stirred by prayer

Heaven’s eternal days before me

God’s own hand shall guide us there

Soon shall close our earthly mission

Swiftly pass my pilgrim days

Hopes shall change to glad fruition

Faith to sight and prayer to praise

Jesus, help me pick up my cross daily to follow you. Lord, let me lose my life for your sake so that I may find life eternal in your presence. God, you are worthy. I love you.
Leave a Reply

