My thoughts on work

I am writing this post on board my flight from Sydney to Singapore.

Sigh. As the Chinese saying goes, 好花不常開,好景不常在。After a lovely holiday in Australia, it is finally time to say goodbye and go home. And tomorrow night, I will be flying back to the UK. I dread to think of all the work that awaits me when I get back. There will be more on-calls to do, more studying to go through, and a whole lot more stress to endure as I prepare for the primary FRCA (MCQ) that will torture me in June. For the coming 3 months, I am going to need to work like a machine. Oh dear, the thought of this has made me feel ready for another holiday already.

This leads me to think: how nice it would be if I never had to work! Being permanently on holiday would be absolutely amazing! If I had all the money in the world and can afford to go anywhere or had the freedom to do anything, I will lead the most enjoyable life!

Really? Perhaps not. Since the fall of Adam and Eve, man has been commanded to work; this is God’s plan for our lives- that we should toil for our livelihood. How can I expect to feel satisfied in my earthly life without doing what God has wired me up to do? I do not think that life can be fulfilling without hard work. Indeed, I doubt holidays would seem enjoyable if I did not have to earn them. Breaks are precious and refreshing only because there have been periods of labour and exhaustion to compare them with.

We are all like rechargeable batteries: we exhaust ourselves doing what we have been designed to do. Then, we spend a period of time at rest getting ourselves recharged for the next time we work again. What use is a rechargeable battery if it was never taken out of its charger to power up electronic equipment? In the same way, what use would our lives be if we only sat around doing nothing? Roads will not be built, houses will not be constructed, streets will not be swept, science and technology will not advance, sick people will be left to die, and no one will farm for food. In fact, our “permanent holidays” will really suck because nobody works. No one will be running hotels, no one will be flying the planes, there will be no chefs, no room service, no cleaners, no dive instructors, no tour guides, no nothing. Imagine a world with no work. I can just see in my mind’s eye that we will all just be disease-stricken, lazing around in our own dirt and grime with fleas buzzing around our smelly bodies. We have no roofs over our heads, and are hungry with no food to eat. We are bored to death with no TV to watch, no iphone/ipad/ipod/imac to play with. It will be awful.

Man are made to work.

Colossians 3:23. “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men.”

Leave a Reply

