Sad

On the very last day of 2011, my dear friend has committed spiritual suicide.

In the space of 2 weeks, his facebook profile has gone from “single” to “in a relationship,” and today, it became “engaged.”

I wept, and I am sure all the angels in heaven did too. Here is a wonderful young man who has chosen to give his life over to the devil. Like a seed that has been sown among the thorns, the cares and desires of this world have come up and choked him. Like a prodigal son, he has abandoned his doting Father in order to squander his life away.

Devastated. Confused. Angry. Hurt. Sorrowful. I am overwhelmed with a melange of nasty emotions.

But despite all that has happened, I believe my saviour reigns. God is more powerful than Satan at its best. God still loves him, and I know God can turn him around. God even loves the person who has caused him to stumble and sin. God cares, and God forgives. God can use the worst situations to bring glory to Himself.

Enough crying! Pray instead. Let’s start all over again. I will treat him and love him as a non-believing friend, and hopefully one day his heart of stone will learn to beat again for the Lord. Even if he comes back to God in a mess, I am sure the Lord will give grace for us to pick up the pieces and put him back together again then.

Leave a Reply

