Wedding festivities

My dear friend Vicky finally got married yesterday!

It was a really beautiful wedding and Vicky looked absolutely stunning in her gorgeous gown. I stopped breathing for a second as she stepped onto the aisle with her father; I am sure Chris did too.

God was at the centre of the wedding festivities, and prayer and praise was offered up to Him throughout the day. I pray that the couple will reflect a shadow of God’s love for mankind in their marriage, bearing a strong witness for the Lord through their love for each other.

There was a lot of laughter and fun as the speeches were made after dinner. People within their families teased each other even as they expressed their love and support for the newly-weds. Family bliss was definitely lingering in the air.

Vicky also ate chocolate for the first time in 14 years as Chris was made to feed her some wedding cake!

And of course, I did my little bit for the wedding with my partner in crime, Ruth. We performed during the register signing, and thankfully it went pretty smoothly despite the fact that I was so nervous! There were a couple of times when I went a little pitchy, but I am quite satisfied with our performance overall. Various people came up to me after the wedding to say how well I sounded. One lady even said that I had the voice of an angel! She was convinced that I was a singer and could not believe that I have never had any formal voice training. Another one of Vicky’s friends from Swindon also said that all her guy friends were “mesmerised” by my singing! Mesmerised! Oh my, I have never known myself to be capable of mesmerising anyone with any part of my being, so I felt very flattered by the feedback. (:

 

The wedding got me thinking about love.

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonour others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices in truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails” 1 Cor 13:4-8a

Oh, how much love demands of us! But this is the way God loves, and should be the way we learn to love one another.

God loved us so much, that he sent his only begotten son to die on the cross for sinners such as me. He loved us so much that He chose to sacrifice Himself in order to save us from our self-destructive ways. He loved us so much that He chose to forgive us unconditionally, even when we are hating and hurting him daily. God’s love overflows, it is so excessive that I don’t think I can ever fully “grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ.” (Ephesians 3:18)

God’s love fully satisfies. It will never leave you wanting. It is forever.

When we love as God does, the world would be so much more beautiful. We will stop seeking self-interests, stop letting others down, stop hurting each other. Tears will make way for laughter, cold will make way for warmth, hunger will make way for satisfaction, pain will make way for comfort, fear will make way for peace, desperation will make way for hope, and joy will prevail.

Teach me to love, dear Lord.

Leave a Reply

