Worried for a friend

One of my closest friends from University seems to be in trouble.

I don’t know what trouble, but a couple of our mutual friends (with whom he has confided in) seem genuinely worried about him. I was chatting to B yesterday who said “I’m very very worried about him. He is at a cross-roads now, and is imminently in danger of giving up his faith in Christ. You said you feel that he is distancing himself from everybody else– well, the truth is that he is.”

I don’t want to know what’s going on because my said friend has obviously chosen not to tell me his problems, but this is huge. I love this friend to bits. He has been a real friend and brother to me in the last 7.5 years. He has been one of the most loving, generous, hospitable, smart and gifted (in cooking no less) person I know. We have laughed and cried and prayed and praised God together and I’ve always thanked God that I’ve been able to witness his conversion, baptism, growth, and selfless service in the name of the Lord.

I have been distracted throughout most of today considering what B said to me about him last night. I don’t want this friend to turn his back to God, or to distance himself from the true love, hope and peace that only Christ can offer. I  don’t want him to be tempted by fleeting worldly treasures and pleasures, only to be devoured by the brokenness and hopelessness of this secular place in which we are simply passing through. Today, I find myself grieving the potential loss of a dear friend.

Lord God, please will you hang on to him. Grab him in your hands and never let go, even when he seems desperate to break away from you. Lord Jesus, please be merciful. Use the same power that you used to overcome death’s sting to shield my friend from the devil and its ways. God, please rekindle his first love for you. And teach me Lord, to be a crutch for him at this difficult time of his life.

And to my dear friend in trouble:

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you. Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings. And the Lord of grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast. To him be the power for ever and ever. Amen.” 1 Peter 5:7-11

I am praying daily that you choose not to be a prodigal son.

Leave a Reply

